Home > Midcap Stock Ideas > Stock Watch- Jaiprakash Associates

Stock Watch- Jaiprakash Associates

Wednesday, November 7, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Jaiprakash Associates is one of the stocks that I like as the stock has been trending up nicely since 800 levels. Its hitting new highs every day.

Disclosures- We are long on the stock.

  1. sagecapital
    Thursday, February 7, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Jose- It might take quite a while. The stock is not showing any momentum and upward trend.
    It might pick up after 400.

  2. Jose
    Thursday, February 7, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Hi Sage,
    What abt Jaiprakash Associates?
    How long it will take to catch up the race?

  3. sagecapital
    Friday, February 1, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    I’d advise you to exit your midcaps on every rise and switch to large caps.

  4. masoom
    Thursday, January 31, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    hi there,
    i am new to this market,say started to trade from dec.now i hold MRPL-150,RNRL-100,SUVEN PHARMA-100,PARACABLES-100,UCO BANK-100 SHARES.I AM CONFUSED SHOULD I WAIT FOR THE MARKET TO STABLISE ,I CASE I SELL ,WHICH ONE IT WOULD BE.
    NEED WISE ADVISE.
    THANK U.

  5. goutham
    Tuesday, January 22, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Thanks for replying Sage.

    Also Us federal has cut the interest rates, but i can still see dow jones and Nasdaq are in red. But the cut has helped other economies recover ( eg FTSE up by about 200 points ) .

    How do you feel it is going to be tomorrow for india?

    Thanks ,
    Goutham

  6. sagecapital
    Tuesday, January 22, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Goutham- I am not looking to accumulate beaten down stocks after this correction. Aurobindo is in a deep downtrend. Infact-one of clients had gone short on the stock after it broke 500 levels!
    One can buy such stocks for a trading bounce of 10-20% but I’d avoid the stock from a longer term perspective.There are many better picks available.

  7. Goutham
    Tuesday, January 22, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Hi sage,

    After this crash , how do you feel Aurobindo Pharama would fare once the market stablises. Is it a good pick at the current levels.

    Please let me know your views on this.

    Thanks ,
    Goutham

  8. sagecapital
    Saturday, November 10, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    I feel its better to exit Sun TV and WWIL. I feel you have waited long enough. WWIL has fallen from 135 odd levels to 35 levels. Sun TV too has been in downwards trend.I don’t know how one can make money riding the downtrend in such stocks.(other than shorting them)
    Sun TV is on my scan for a short sell.
    Jindal Steel and Power has run up sharply. Entering at this level might carry more risk. The stock can correct further.

  9. Saturday, November 10, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    I hold sun t.v.& wwil for 2months. can i hold
    these stocks? or exit immediately.
    what about the prospects for jindal steel&infra?

  10. Hari Swaminathan
    Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    I sold INFY and TCS two days ago – good exit considering how INFY fared today – Selling losers is the hardest thing to do, but if you can sell Losers, as a trader, you’ll always be a winner !
    Hari

  11. sagecapital
    Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    Sharesingh- I do not use such complicated patterns! You might do well if you learn to “cut your losses” rather than learn candlestick patterns.
    Another thing-Please test your methods before you put real money on the line.
    I am currently flat on the market as I got stopped out of my longs.

  12. Sharesingh
    Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    Hi Sage,

    Now a days , i am learning technical analysis .Today atfer close of the market , the BSE candlestick chart form “Three Black Crows pattern”.It is highly Reliabile bearish pattern. Can i go short on nifty tomorrow.Drop your suggestion Sir.

    Regards
    Sharesingh

  13. sagecapital
    Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    Mr. Reddy- You yourself know what needs to be done. Just get rid of your pain by selling these dogs! INFY/TCS can fall sharply from these levels.
    One more thing- selling them doesn’t mean that you can never buy them again. You can always buy them later when they start to trend up. Sitting on your losers is very “risky”.
    If you need help with your stocks/portfolio, you can have a look at my products. Then you will have no option but to sell them !

  14. Sreenivasula Reddy
    Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    Dear Sage,

    I am also a long term investor. At the moment I also hold TCS/INFY and CIPLA shares ( Almost a year …it yeilds nothing but pain)

    Do u advice to get rid of these oldies ?

    I also realiesed the importance of your words “I put more importance on exits and risk management”.

    Thanks in advance,
    Reddy

  15. sagecapital
    Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 4:01 pm

    Jatin – You are most welcome!
    I am not sure if it shall outperform but I shall continue to ride this as long as it outperforms.
    Regarding entry/exits, I put more importance on exits and risk management.
    Plus I FORCE my clients to cut their losers 🙂
    Never easy to convince them to get rid of their INFY/TCS but short term pain is much better than longer term pain. All of them tell me that “I can wait and hold longer”. Tell me what does a wait on INFY/TCS/CIPLA yield?
    All of us are wired to “ride our losers” and I try to get them out of that. Once u get used to it, cutting losers come automatically to you! Then you are no longer scared to buy the highs and sell the lows.

  16. Jatin
    Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Hi Sage,

    Good to see you talk about this stock.
    My personal favorite. I entered at 775 and sold at 1050. Then re-entered in the P-note dip at around 1150 and since then continue to hold.
    I think it will outperform the markets hugely.

    Regards
    Jatin

    P.S – I’ve been thinking to buy this in futures and waiting for a dip. But, it continues to amaze me. Guess i gotta subscribe to ur services fast, so that i knw when to enter/exit 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

